She Called Me Sunshine


You are my sunshine
My only sunshine
You make me happy
When skies are grey
You’ll never know, dear
How much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away
 
I’ve heard that sunshine has healing powers over mountains and through valleys
Ability to bring back to life what was once thought to be vacant
I wanted to be your sunshine
Wipe away the grey skies and blue moons of past horizons
Solar deity wrapped in the flesh of mankind and delivered directly to you
Lady had already sung enough of the blues
So I came bearing sweet melodies of R&B sung in the rain
Jamming side by side
Together we’d be alright
I simply wanted to paint you in lavender
Chamomile exotic teas into small moments of pleasure
Savored across your lips
Slow fed to your soul
I wanted to touch you incessantly
And not just physically but mentally
Spiritually
 
The other nite, dear
As I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms
When I awoke, dear
I was mistaken
And I hung my head and cried
 
Somehow I allowed the future to far exceed my present
And your past was all mixed within our time
What was Benign was blown to asinine proportions
But I was willing to bite the proverbial bullet
To appease you
Not just to please you but to feed you
Start from scratch, edify with you
Like love over time becomes contagious
Loquacious moments from just being in your presence
For iif the solid angle of the Earth as seen from the Sun is 1/175,000,000 of a steradian
Then dear it’s safe to say that I could be your 1:1,000,000
But if two-dimensional angular spans in three-dimensional spaces
And if you were ready for change then how’d you let the clouds take your sunshine away
Why give in to optical illusions
Moments that if given enough time would mean nothing in the end
Now deeper than lovers we can’t even be friends
So I guess it’s safe to say that in actuality
 
You were my sunshine
My only sunshine
You made me happy
When skies were grey
You’ll never know, dear
That I loved you
Now my sunshine is gone away

Leave a Reply

