Favorite Quotes


We'll Make It Over

We'll Make It Over

 This morning I share with you some of my most favorite quotes. Enjoy.

And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.  Anais Nin

 I postpone death by living, by suffering, by error, by risking, by giving, by losing.  Anais Nin

 If you do not breathe through writing, if you do not cry out in writing, or sing in writing, then don’t write, because our culture has no use for it. Anais Nin

 A thing is mighty big when time and distance cannot shrink it. Zora Neale Hurston

 It’s a funny thing, the less people have to live for, the less nerve they have to risk losing nothing. Zora Neale Hurston

 Sometimes, I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me. Zora Neale Hurston

I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.  Audre Lorde

 I write for those women who do not speak, for those who do not have a voice because they were so terrified, because we are taught to respect fear more than ourselves. We’ve been taught that silence would save us, but it won’t. Audre Lorde

 I really don’t think life is about the I-could-have-beens. Life is only about the I-tried-to-do. I don’t mind the failure but I can’t imagine that I’d forgive myself if I didn’t try. Nikki Giovanni

 When Bush says democracy, I often wonder what he’s referring to. Angela Davis

 And so our mothers and grandmothers have, more often than not anonymously, handed on the creative spark, the seed of the flower they themselves never hoped to see – or like a sealed letter they could not plainly read. Alice Walker

No person is your friend who demands your silence, or denies your right to grow. Alice Walker

 Writing saved me from the sin and inconvenience of violence. Alice Walker

 Yes, Mother. I can see you are flawed. You have not hidden it. That is your greatest gift to me. Alice Walker

 From the first time someone says, Who do you think you are? we learn how to repress. Lauryn Hill

Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure. Oprah Winfrey

 (This is how I feel of Atlanta) My first day in Chicago, September 4, 1983. I set foot in this city, and just walking down the street, it was like roots, like the motherland. I knew I belonged here. Oprah Winfrey

Peace,

Nykieria Dennise

Leave a Reply

