Nesteia


Nesteia 

  1. of private fasting
  2. the public fast as prescribed by the Mosaic Law and kept yearly on the great day of atonement, the tenth of the month of Tisri (the month Tisri comprises a part of our September and October); the fast accordingly, occurred in the autumn when navigation was usually dangerous on account of storms

On 03/20 I entered into my current fast. I am abstaining from all food and most beverages except water. The past two days I have had a cup of coffee in the morning but that’s it besides ice and water.This fast is truly about “afflicting my soul”, of all the things I am seeking, I am mostly desiring a closer relationship with God on this journey. I believe that in sacrifice I will be able to reach a higher level, elevating to the next platform of my life. I’m not Holy, nor is this my attempt to appear more spiritual than I am. I am on a journey.

Abstinence from food and physical pleasures….

I’ve read that you don’t choose to fast; it is something that chooses you and that is the absolute truth. I really can’t describe what has led me up to this point. I can just tell you that it has been an all-consuming urge. It wasn’t anything that I had to research or look up how to do; it was just something that I knew needed to be done. My whole body responded to the notion. It was time. I’m seeking guidance, direction, spiritual revelation and elevation. The journey from what I have known and what I seek to become is a long road that I often conflict even myself on. The old me struggles with the new me on the most trivial issues. I am walking in my destiny, I am sharpening my craft, I am letting go and letting God. I do not seek perfection but I will be obedient. I don’t know how long this fast will last as I’ve never done a fast from all food. Well except for not eating after 12 if I had Dr’s appt for lab work.

Yesterday was easier than I thought it was going to be. I was anxious and nervous about lunch time. We’ve been programmed to tell ourselves it’s time to eat when our job determines that it is. That in itself is ridiculous but I digress. When it was almost time to get off yesterday someone popped popcorn and I think my mouth watered just a tad lol

God said, “When you seek me with all your heart, I will be found by you”. (Jeremiah 29:13).

I’m steadfast and diligent in remaining obedient. In the spirit of Jabez I have been asking God to Bless me and enlarge my territory. I pray that he keeps his hand upon me and remove any/all temptation from me. Through the trials of my life I know that I am intended to endure much because my Blessings and reward will be vast and far-reaching. With this in mind I submit myself to the process.

4 thoughts on “Nesteia

  1. Ok. See, THIS is why I keep returning to your site!

    The entire post is inspirational, motivational and serves as but another example of your gift. Specifically, it it My kind of language…substantive food for thought.

    “I really can’t describe what has led me up to this point. I can just tell you that it has been an all-consuming urge. It wasn’t anything that I had to research or look up how to do; it was just something that I knew needed to be done. My whole body responded to the notion.”

    And now it is become a reality.

    “I am letting go and letting God. I do not seek perfection but I will be obedient. ”

    And if I may ask, “obedient” to who?

    To You? To God? Both?

    • Peace,

      Thanks. My overall desire is to be obedient to God. I believe that through prayer and truly listening I’ll be able to better accomplish that. I was a little hesitant about posting this blog because I didn’t want to appear “showy”… humility. With that being said, I’m glad that you were about to find this motivational/inspirational.

      Nykieria

  2. I was raised in large part by my maternal grandparents. No grandchild could have wished for a better blessing in that regard.

    My grandmother (who was deeply religious) very much believed in the spiritual benefits of fasting and she did so often (usually on Fridays). She encouraged me to take up the practice (if you will) when I became a teenager. I won’t lie..I did it, now and then but it was tough for me back then…lol

    As an adult_and having finally GROWN UP_I’ve learned to appreciate ALL of the benefits of fasting (spiritual, physical, mental and emotional). That said: It’s been awhile since I’ve fasted. Your post has sparked my interest in wanting to do so in the very near future.

    Thank You!

    • You really just put a smile on my face. This is awesome. I think it’s great to reconnect with our roots. This was my first fast and I made it two days. My next one will be for three.

Leave a Reply

