The Single Life…


  

I’ve been single for two years now and more often than not, I feel like I’m going to be this way for a long, and I mean really long, time. I have done my fair share of dating in this time period, some dates were awesome, some left me with my mouth hanging open in disgust. What happened to the days and times that people actually courted one another and took it slow. Taking it slow is more than lyrics in a John Legend song.

Why is your wife calling me?!

No one wants to go out with someone who is already attached to someone else. If you have a girlfriend, wife, boo, etc etc… then please keep that drama to yourself. If you’re not happy with the person you’re currently with then get out of the relationship before you seek someone else.  No, I don’t believe there is just something so special about me that you could not help yourself or that we have some great connection that makes you want to stray from home. If you did it to them then you’ll do it to me. Can you say RED FLAG!

You really wanna *** every girl in the world… I mean ALL of them. That’s just nasty.

You jump in bed with everyone that gives you an opportunity to do so. Do you know that every 9 ½ minutes someone is infected with HIV. When is the last time you were tested?

This is not Monopoly.

You only call at certain times of the day, you don’t like to be seen in public so you always want to “stay in”, the word exclusive makes your skin crawl, everyone is just your “friend”, ect ect… When do the games end? What’s wrong with a little honesty? Just maybe the person you’re interested in isn’t ready to settle down with you either. Just maybe we’re all looking for someone to just “kick it” with. I’m game with sharing space with someone interesting and attractive but someone who constantly lies makes my skin crawl.

You said you had one child… Where did the other 4 come from?

I don’t mind dating someone with children but I’m not ready an instant minivan family. I think you’re really shallow if you lie about how many children you have.

What is that white stuff on the top of your nose?

Drugs are illegal and cost a lot of money. If you have a secret drug habit then please, “walk on by…”

Big spender on a little budget… 

Listen, I’m a grown woman. I pay my own bills and have my own expenses, don’t come this way gold digging. I’m trying to keep a roof over my own head. Are you crazy? You want me to do what?Fool me once.. I’ve spent money on someone who was perpetually broke… it will never ever happen again. 

You’re not out?

I will be your friend but that’s about all. I’m not trying to deal with anyone still in the closet. No thanks; I conquered that hurdle a long time ago. 

You’re spoiled and you throw tantrums! 

You have gots to be kidding; I don’t even tolerate this from children. 

Oh, just a little weight. 

So you like everything about me but I’m just a little too thick for your palate… Well keep it moving, Not only do I love myself but I really love each and every single curve of my body. 

I’m too ambitious… 

I’ve been told over and over again that people I’m dating feel that I put my craft over them. I work hard, I play hard. That’s my motto. I don’t just do this for fun. Writing, Performing, and Directing is really the life of me. I live in it. It gives me life. It would be nice if I met someone who was supportive of my endeavors. How about that tito!’’ 

You love me…  already… 

We’ve only been dating two weeks, what do you mean you’re in love with me. When people do stuff like this, it’s usually a tale tell sign that they will be overly emotional and clingy later down the line. You don’t fall in love over night. You don’t even know me in two weeks to be in love. Please learn how to govern yourself accordingly  

You’re an atheist… 

I REBUKE YOU! 

Ok, I know this post was all over the place but just I just needed to vent a little about my dating life. Blah Blah Blah…. It’s my blog and I vent if I want to, vent if I want to. lol. Yes, it’s been one of those days.

4 thoughts on “The Single Life…

  1. “Ok, I know this post was all over the place but just I just needed to vent a little about my dating life. Blah Blah Blah…. It’s my blog and I vent if I want to, vent if I want to. lol. Yes, it’s been one of those days.”

    Lol….Well it’s now Saturday and hopefully you’re having a pretty good day.

    I’ve been single a little over 4 years and lets’ just say I feel you on all points made..lol.

  2. Oh believe me. I didn’t plan to be single this long.

    But the truth is, after I ended my last relationship, I was so fed-up with dealing with Black lesbian bullsh*t that I simply withdrew from actively engaing in any kind of social recreational activites that would put me in direct contact with a potential mate.

    It started with 1 day and before I knew it 4 years had gone by. My gay friends were really beginning to worry…lol.

    However, about 6 months ago I began to re-emerge from my self-imposed cocoon and I’m feeling a lot more Positive again about connecting with a potential mate again :)!

    • Wow, that must have been one heck of an experience 🙂

      Something about dating over the last two years has made me a lot more reserved… I used to be the one to approach but these days I tend to fall back. Que sera sera. In the meantime I keep my dances heels ready to go.

Leave a Reply

