Bridie


Icy Hot
I see hot
Who’s going to rub down Uncle Wash feet today
I can remember
The family gathered for Sunday dinners
He had his own chair
Sitting there
White tee
That’s how I can remember him
Hillside Ave
Newark, NJ
Peppermint smells
Sun porches
I remember
Scoop a little in my hands
Rub to warm
Take foot in hand
And rub
And rub
And rub
Uncle Wash died of diabetes
I remember walking the pews
I remember….
Too many people passing in my life
We would gather around the kitchen table
Pass jokes laugh around the kitchen table
Up
Downstairs we strode
I remember
Icy Hot
My aunt died today

One thought on “Bridie

Leave a Reply

