Misguided Intentions: Part 2


Graduation came and went so fast that if I would have sneezed, I would have missed it. I felt a tinge of envy because I didn’t make Valedictorian by 1/10 a point but that feeling was quickly wiped away the moment my name was called and I walked across the stage. I could see my mother smiling at me as she pointed Q in my direction. He was clapping and smiling along with the rest of my family even though I knew he didn’t have any idea what was going on.

My grandparents had five children and all of them were girls. My mother was the baby of the bunch but they’d all graduated from High School and College which said a lot about their upbringing. Not everyone’s life took the direction they originally planned but they got up each time they were knocked down.

While most people make a big deal of high school graduations, I’ve never thought they were a real reason to celebrate. Maybe back in the early years when many blacks weren’t given a chance for full education but times have changed. Graduating from high school should be a requirement if not a law. Too many children are not taking advantage of the same education that people died so they could obtain.

A lack of education leads to a lack of options which is usually the foundation of most criminal activity. Thus if we can get to the children before they reach that point then we have a better chance of directing them towards a more promising future. It’s these very thoughts that lead me to a Bachelor of Science in Psychology with a Minor in Communication Sciences and Disorders.

I plan on getting my Masters and then Doctorial degree. One thing my mother taught me was to reach for the highest that you could obtain and to not let anything stand in your way. A lesson she’d learned first hand.

My father and she were high school sweethearts. During their senior year, his family moved away but they refused to let distance keep them apart. She applied and was accepted to Spellman and my father went to Morehouse. The two of them dated all the way up until the beginning of their senior year in college. My mother has never been able to tell me exactly what took place the night my father died.

The story she gave me was they were at one of his fraternity parties when a girl that liked him began to disrespect her. My mother became upset and wanted to leave the party but my father had been drinking. One of his frat brothers agreed to take my mother back to her dorm. He dropped her off and returned back to the party but my father had left by then.

Supposedly to make my father jealous, the girl told him that my mother had left to get it on with his fraternity brother. He jumped into the car to race over to my mother’s dorm but he never made it. The next morning they found the car accident off the on ramp of the highway. It was assumed that he’d been speeding and lost control of the car but some people speculated that he’d passed out at the wheel and then crashed.

My mother was so devastated that she left school for the rest of the semester. In dealing with my father’s death and the holidays that came and went, it was 3 months before she realized she hadn’t seen her period since she left school. A visit to the doctor’s office confirmed that she was 16 weeks pregnant.

Never being the one to allow a situation to move her, she returned to school in January and received her Degree that June. Her water broke less than an hour after she walked across the stage and I was born less than 3 hours later. She always jokes with me and says that was my father’s way of making sure he was there to celebrate with her.

I looked out the window towards the vibration that had disturbed my thoughts. I knew it was trouble the moment I saw the 20 inch rims of the 1976 Chevy pull into my drive way. The music was up so loud that my windows were vibrating along with the beat. It was a good thing that my mother and Derek had taken Q out for the afternoon.

I swung the door open and headed to the driveway. “Turn that shit down.” I couldn’t control the anger that crept into my voice as I saw Ebony leaned back with one arm on the steering wheel, rocking a pair of shades as if she didn’t have a care in the world. Walking to the driveway my hand immediately went to my hip.

“Turn that shit down Ebony!” She knew better than coming around here blasting music like that.

“My bad Nyla, why you gotta say it like that ma.” Ebony turned off the ignition and stepped out of the car looking fresh in a black shirt, cargo shorts, and a new pair of Timberland boots. She cut her locs at the beginning of the summer and now her hair was low cut and freshly edged. The diamond studs in her ears glistened as white as her teeth.

“Because you’re rolling up here all ghetto fabulous and shit.” I was upset that she had the music so loud but I was more pissed that she still thought she could just roll up at my house whenever she wanted to. She had long lost those privileges.

“The last thing I am is ghetto but my bad. I forgot you don’t want the white neighbors to realize there’s some new negros around.” Ebony leaned back against the car door and looked at me with a smirk.

My face turned three shades of red. “F*ck you Ebony.” I replied as I turned to walk back in the house.

“Ok, ok, my bad. I’m sorry Nyla. Dang, why are you tripping on me?” Ebony grabbed my arm and pulled me closer to her.

“Let go of me.”

“Aight.” She dropped my arm and I took a step back.

What do you want?

“I was coming to say congratulations on graduating.” Ebony reached inside the open car window and pulled out a gift bag.

“Thank you.”

“Come on Nyla. Why are you acting like this?” A serious look crossed her face and I almost reached out to rub her cheek but thought better of it.

“Thank you for the gift Ebony but for real, what do you want?” The anger instantly disappeared from my voice.

“I just want to spend a little time with you.” She pulled me against her.

“You should have called first. How did you know my girlfriend wasn’t over?”

A frown flashed across her face. “What fucking girlfriend? I know you’re not dating anyone.”

“Says who?” Ebony and I have been broken up for over a year now but we still casually see each other. She was my first and we dated for 4 years but as with most studs, she couldn’t keep her dick in her pants. I left her for good when I found out that she’d been trying to get with Stephanie behind my back. Even though I could never trust her enough to date her again, she was my first true love and the sex is amazing.

“So are you with somebody else now?” Her chestnut brown eyes dropped down giving her face that sad puppy dog look.

“No Ebony.”

“That’s what I thought.” Her hands slipped from my waist to my behind as she pulled me closer to her. We locked eyes and she kissed the tip of my nose. “So will you spend the rest of the day with me?”

There were a million plus reasons why I should have said no but I found my head shaking up and down. As they say, good girls love bad bois.

“I promise they’ll be no drama. Just hanging like old times ok.” She asked looking into my eyes.

“Yeah ok.” She followed me into the house so that I could get dressed.

After sitting down in the living room, she called down the hallway. “Where’s your mother?”

I looked in the closet for something to wear. It was hot and humid outside and I’d originally planned on spending the day inside so I wasn’t looking to wear anything that required ironing. I settled on a yellow sundress and some tan sandals.

“She’s at the park.” I slipped the dress over my head and yelled down the hall. I stepped in front of the mirror and pulled the ponytail out of my hair. It was a good thing that I washed and straightened it last night or I would have had a serious problem. I combed it all straight back and put a little bronzer and eye shadow on. A soft sheen of lip gloss and I was ready to go.

“So we’re here alone.” I looked over my shoulder and Ebony was standing in my doorway flashing a sexy smile.

“Oh hell to the no. Do not get any ideas.” I’d know that look anywhere.

She walked over and sat down on the bed. “What kind of ideas?”

“The kind that makes you think there is any way in hell that you’re about to get some up in here.” I sat down next to her and began strapping up my sandals.

“Come on Nyla, you know me better than that. But if something was to happen…”

I cut her off mid sentence. “Well you don’t have to worry. You know all hell would break loose if my mother walked up in here and caught us.”

“Well let’s not plan on getting caught.” She replied as her hands went to the small of my back. Now why did she have to go there? If there was one thing I could say about Ebony then it was that she knew my body. She could work me over like the strings of a well played guitar.

I felt her lips on the back of my neck and my back instantly arched in. Kiss after kiss after kiss, she came around until her lips met mine. The moment her tongue entered my mouth, my legs slid open.

To be continued…

5 thoughts on “Misguided Intentions: Part 2

  1. “Ebony and I have been broken up for over a year now but we still casually see each other. She was my first and we dated for 4 years…”

    So were they an actual couple for 4 yrs?

    Or did they “date” for 4 years (with *benefits*)?

  2. Now how are you going to cut it off at the good part Nykieria! You gettin a spankin for that one, I was all ready and……”to be cont…” So you know what’s taking place right now right? I am looking down, like, (in my stud voice) “see what you did, what you gon do about it” LOL!

    • Girl, you are a trip. First of all, you don’t have an ounce of stud in you and secondly, you better make some calls and find someone to handle that for you…

      As for Nyla & Moe… they’ll be back after the commercial break. lol

Leave a Reply

