Inhale, Exhale, Release…


Is April really next month? Time has been flying by so fast that I’ve had a hard time keeping up with everything, including myself. While it has been THAT long, I feel like it’s been forever since I sat down to blog/write and it’s such a shameful thing. So much has been going on that deserved worthy posts but they will get caught up here in a review of the first quarter of 2012.

I opened the year rehearsing the Positively Infected cast for our Dothan, AL show. In the midst of rehearsing I auditioned and was cast for The Vagina Monologues. It had been such a long time since I came from behind the curtain that I was  both nervous and excited. It is very stressful producing and directing shows.

Without warning I lost my job Feb 1. Not only was this a blow to my world but I was headed off for a vacation to New York to celebrate a friend’s birthday. What do you mean you’re “letting me go”…. Um, come again… I was upset, disappointed, scared, frustrated, and a bunch of other  emotions but deep inside, I was really relieved. The job had not done any of the things that I was promised when I went to work for them and being there was more of a burden/chore than anything else. So, not to be swayed, I packed my bags and off on vacation I went.

DC & NEW YORK WAS FABULOUS! (scroll past pics to continue reading)

Going home did so much for my spirit. It reminded me of who I am, where I’m going, hell, what I’m doing. I needed to go home so bad that I didn’t realize it until I got there. Being in New York refreshed my creativity, it reminded me  of my struggle, it showed me how far I’ve come from. I’ve been fighting the odds since conception so what had me thinking that now would be any different…

And then I returned home… Now… I’ve been working since I was 14. At 30, it’s about the only thing that has remained consistent in my life. In addition to working, I’ve always managed all of the other million projects that I’m involved in. The first week that I returned from vacation was ok. By the second week, I was running myself crazy trying to find a job. I can’t sit around watching Dr. Oz all day… I don’t even like TV… What about my bills… Talk about driving yourself crazy. I was a wreck and it had only been two weeks.

Looking back, I see how amazing God is. Though I wasn’t working, I was rehearsing for The Vagina Monologues and Positively Infected for a total of 6 nights a week. I had one day free and that was spent getting ready for the other days and things that I was involved in. I was still going places I’d agreed to perform at  etc, etc… Needless to say, I doubt I could have done everything in the last month that I’ve done had I been working during the day time. & PRAISE God that I haven’t gone a day without anything that I need. That alone is reason enough for a Praise break.

Positively Infected showed in Myrtle Beach for Women & Girls HIV Awareness Day on March 10. We did two shows that weekend and both were a success.

Came back from Myrtle Beach that Sunday and had Vagina Monologue rehearsals all week starting that Monday.

First, I have to say how amazing the cast was. There was so much talent present that it was mind-blowing at times. A cast of 45 women with no drama whatsoever! I loved it. There was days that I just didn’t feel like going to practice but those were the days that I appreciated it the most. The show was 3 hours long BUT it was worth every second invested.

Atlanta Vagina Monologues

So the shows have come and gone but guess what. I have not one, but two jobs that I absolutely love. That’s right, God closes one door so that he can open others. I am now coordinating activities for Alzheimer’s & Dementia patients and on friday I complete my certification as an Early Childhood Educator where I’ll be working with children newborn – 5 years old. It would take a whole lot more writing to explain how all of this came about but just know that I KNOW that I am beyond abundantly BLESSED & HIGHLY FAVORED. God has something up his sleeve and I feel that a major transition is taking place in my life so stay tuned.

Other random news…

Cre8ive Nsights files for its first major grant tomorrow

My niece will turn 1 next  week

I’m going to see Nneka on Saturday and I’m super excited to see her in the US.

Troy State University is bringing Positively Infected back to Dothan, AL next month & we will present with Erica Alexander!

Today I completed my First Aid & CPR certification… who needs mouth to mouth? lol

We’re looking at shows in New York and St. Louis in August and we may be headed to Cali for World Aids Day.

& I performed on Qui 510 upcoming CD. She’ll also be in Atlanta next week and we’ll hit a few spots around town.

Ok, I think that’s it for now folks.

Peace

3 thoughts on “Inhale, Exhale, Release…

  1. Well GREETINGS stranger!!!…lol …

    ..and I thought my life was busy!?!

    Congrats on all the good things happening for you!

    And you just *Keep right on keeping on* 🙂

  2. Well GREETINGS stranger!!!

    And here I thought I lead a busy life!?! Huh. You put me to shame…lol

    Congrats on the Good that’s happening for you!

    You just *keep right on keeping on*..:)

  3. Who knew the space your old job was occupying was so valuable. I knew things would turn around for you. I loved the performance Nykieria. Yours particularly was a very powerful message. Was it 6 billion dollars? Wow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

