Do Not Love Me To Death


Ana Behibek

Love was an early morning breeze drifting through windows and floating through doors
Bed time prayers quietly tucked into princess sheets
Kissing boo boos and bandaging knees
My grandmother diligently kneading biscuit dough to feed the family
Daddy dirty and sweaty sun blackened from a long days work but still taking the time to talk to me
Bowing heads and passing grace around kitchens tables
12 speed bike rides and stoop talks
Bobsleighs and goose downs exchanging wind chill factors
Drifting on an old country swing
Dragging feet through well-beaten sand
Dreams and prosperity
Simplicity captured in vulnerability
Sprinkled with truth and cleansed with clarity
This is love
Ana behibek
Ya tabe kahy
T’estimo
Wo ai ni
Ninapenda wewe
Je t’aime, Je t’adore
Iay ovelay ouyay ikelay
I learned to breathe
Naturally
Don’t think, just do it
Open wide and swallow deep
Then dig a little deeper
For it soothes and holds you over
Comforts motivates and guides your growth
Takes you subtly
Love is like instant chemistry
Because if I could
I would remove the air molecules and leave nothing but love and I touching
Wrapped in the comfort of long gazes and slow kisses
Simply savoring the touch of your skin brushing against mine
In the words of Mrs. Celie, “Love like honey. And now I’s just like a bee.”
Simply attracted
The way we pillow talk
Slow grind off to sleep
Roll over into
The touch, the feel of cotton
Love is the fabric of my life
Slow waking of morning after conversations over breakfast
The long gaze of daydreams of midnight freak me down sessions
The kind of love that Shai fell in when Whitney was giving her all
Love wants to be your tenderoni because your Adidas is bad as hell
Love should feel good
Make you all giddy, happy, and nervous and shit
Butterflies dancing in your stomach
Breathing increasing for no reason
Just the sight of love coming close
Can you say Agape
Because biblically love should feel spiritual
Love is not saying I love you just because it’s become habitual or will get you closer to sliding inside my thighs
Spreading myself so far over and into you that enough is but two syllables with no meaning
Crooked letters on straight lines
Twisted vowels of babbled communication
Screaming, fighting, arguing nor dishonoring
Love me to death but don’t kill me
Love is not mental, physical, emotional, verbal, financial, or spiritual abuse
Be it passive aggressive or subliminal in it’s meaning
Love does not come out swinging
It does not sneak to read text messages, phone bills, emails, Facebook or twitter accounts because you just know that I’m doing something
It is not flirting in front of my face just to make me jealous
Love doesn’t call up your boo thang at three in the morning just because we’ve been arguing
And it doesn’t matter if you actually fucked or just thought about it
The point remains, it was contemplated
See no one ever said that love would be easy
But “Love is patient, Love is kind; it does not envy nor boast for love is not proud”
It is not ego tripping in front of your homies disrespecting me to upgrade you
Doesn’t belittle demean nor degrade
Love is not taking your frustrations out on me because you have anger management problems
I am not your hitting bag
Walk on by but do not stomp on me in the process
Your soles tend to leave heartburn and I’ve learned that love is a verb
It requires action, not words

One thought on “Do Not Love Me To Death

  1. […]
    Can you say Agape
    Because biblically love should feel spiritual
    Love is not saying I love you just because it’s become habitual or will get you closer to sliding inside my thighs
    Spreading myself so far over and into you that enough is but two syllables with no meaning
    Crooked letters on straight lines
    Twisted vowels of babbled communication
    Screaming, fighting, arguing nor dishonoring
    Love me to death but don’t kill me
    Love is not mental, physical, emotional, verbal, financial, or spiritual abuse
    Be it passive aggressive or subliminal in it’s meaning
    Love does not come out swinging
    It does not sneak to read text messages, phone bills, emails, Facebook or twitter accounts because you just know that I’m doing something
    It is not flirting in front of my face just to make me jealous
    Love doesn’t call up your boo thang at three in the morning just because we’ve been arguing
    And it doesn’t matter if you actually fucked or just thought about it
    The point remains, it was contemplated
    See no one ever said that love would be easy
    But “Love is patient, Love is kind; it does not envy nor boast for love is not proud”
    It is not ego tripping in front of your homies disrespecting me to upgrade you
    Doesn’t belittle demean nor degrade
    Love is not taking your frustrations out on me because you have anger management problems
    I am not your hitting bag
    Walk on by but do not stomp on me in the process
    Your soles tend to leave heartburn and I’ve learned that love is a verb
    It requires action, not words [….]

    {{{….standing up APPLAUDING!!!..}}}

Leave a Reply

