Ready, Set, NYC


In a few hours I will load 8 other adults into a van to drive to NYC where my newest production “Beyond Betrayal” (www.BeyondBetrayalThePlay.com) will show across from Madison Square Garden. My mind is racing, hoping everything will go according to plan, praying for no drama, hoping this is a big break of some sort. It becomes hard to live in the moment when you’re trying to make your way through it. Without saying, this is a big moment for me. It has me feeling soft and vulnerable on the inside. I wish we could have done more promo, what if no one shows, what if the cast gets into a big fight, what if if if if if if if.

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow”. I am even big for telling others “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation by prayer and petition with thanksgiving present your requests to God.” (getting sidetracked in 3,2,1…) There’s something about that verse right there that does something to my spirit. Knowing that immediately behind it comes, “And the peace of God which transcends ALL understanding , will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Something about Paul’s message to “Rejoice in the Lord despite one’s circumstances” that hits home with me. Philippians 4:12-14 brought it right in. “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.”  (Philippians is no joke)

Thanking God for that moment of clarity.

Ok, back to the New York trip.

Beyond all other things, I am excited. This will be my first play in the Big Apple and I know the cast is going to do an amazing God. Quite a few of them have never been to NYC. None of them have ever performed in NYC. The site of the city is quite an alluring place. I can picture us rolling in early morning as the city line stretches our eyes to behold its wonder.

We have days of tours and workshops ahead of us. We work as hard as we play. I’ll likely be frantic with trying to keep up with every one and keeping things running smoothly. Is it worth it? HECK YES! Another step closer to my dreams. Now I just need to work on journaling more.

Maybe one day I’ll get those roses after all.

Here’s the info the shows Saturday.

2 Shows, 4PM and 7:30PM

FREE ADMISSION

Stage Left Studio – 214 W. 30th St 6th FL – New York, NY

Beyond Betrayal The Play

 

 

Leave a Reply

