A Day In NYC


The year is 2003 and I’m living in the Bronx. I stayed in a decent multifamily home right off of Fordham Rd. Fordham University sits at the end of the street. I’m in a relationship, more like getting out of one.

Life in New York was good. I was working at the Statue of Liberty. Catching the train in NYC was always an experience. So much to see/ignore/learn/laugh at. I can still see the men/women walking through the subway cars pushing “Batteries one dollar”. That’s how they said it with their accents. I mean its like 10 years ago so cd players were still in. You don’t want to be stuck on a long ride & your batteries die out in the middle of your favorite song.

Union Square

I got on the train at Fordham Rd, later at Yankee Stadium when I moved. Road down past 125 & Lexington. Watching the train become heavy at Grand Central. I always said I was going to get off at Union Square just to see where it came up at, I never did. All the way down to Battery Park. Some mornings coming up from the heat beneath the streets it felt as if the cold was attempting to crawl in my thermos & touch me on the inside. During the spring/summer, coming up & seeing the city full of fresh flowers & laughing tourists kept me smiling through the day.

Across the street is the Ritz Carlton & Mike Tyson Residence. Directly in front of me is one of the Smithsonian museums & the raging bull of Wall St. I’m working on the water, fits my Scorpio traits rather well.

New York loved on me in rough ways. It rarely took it slow, guess I liked it fast & unexpected. From home cooked Jamaican food in Yonkers to chilling with my homegirl in Brooklyn, it loved on me. Some people only see Yankee Stadium on TV, I walked by it every day. Have you been to a fort? I worked in one (Fort Clinton NYC). Its flavor gave me life. I heart NYC like mornings slept in at grandmas house.

It’s now Feb 2013 & these memories were sparked by a Vivian Green song this morning. I listened to her every single day riding the train back & forth to work. She crooned good love & soulful lyrics through my ears & into my soul. Superwoman played on repeat some days & others I hummed aloud to Be Good To You. Hey, no one cares about crazy looks in NYC. Its expected. 10 years later & the music is still good but boy have times changed. I have no desires to change anything about the last 10 years of my life, I’m thankful, Blessed, & wiser. But for a moment this moment as Vivian Green blasted I closed my ears & I could feel the sway of the train, “stand clear of the doorways” the city passing by above me, strangers all around me so uniquely different but alike. For a moment this morning I was in NYC & it was all good.

Happy Valentines Day!

Leave a Reply

