Blooming (1 of 30)


She said
You are too awesome to be put on a shelf
And not being cocky or overly confident
I thought so myself
Then I remembered a time that they said so too…
But then my awesomeness became an expectation while their efforts became jaded
What we had faded
So we never made it
Because awesome only exists as long as you recognize it as so
So these days I tend to spend more time mending my business
Patchwork quilting the holes I allowed to be made
Never did call out those spades simply allowed the games to be played
Betrayed inner ambitions for self conscious decisions
What a fool of me
Trying so hard to love that I forgot…
ME
Meticulous efforts
Mentally exuded
Mercifully exemplified
Naive
Yearning
Knowingly
Invoking
Exhilarating
Repressed
Intense
Awesomeness
N.Y.K I.E R.I.A
I didn’t lose myself to find myself, I lost everything
Everything?
Everything
Created anew perfectly flawed in my beauty
Blooming
Layers exposed
Resilient
Dusty on the outside
Pure love within
If awesome is what I was then magnificent is what I am

Thank you Rachael for the inspiration. For the next 30 days I’m going to attempt the National Poetry Month poem a day challenge. I’ve tried this before so what makes this time different? Nothing, lol, but hopefully I’ll create some nice new pieces.

Leave a Reply

