My. Cousin, My Brother, My Friend…


I woke up this morning excited for many reasons. A dear friend is graduating this weekend, another will be in town for the occasion. I was ready to cook or be there as needed, whatever the case may be.

And then I got a call from my mother. Some deaths come from the left and kick the shit out of you with no respect of boundaries. There is to be a time and place but where are the limits?

Raheim, you were my brother before I had one. You meant so much to me. When you visited me back in February something told me it would be our last. When you wrapped your arms around me and held me tight, I could feel how much you loved me. To me you were the big brother I never had. I can remember so many things about our upbringing. You taught me what it was like to be one of the boys.

You lived such a hard life RA, I truly pray you’re resting in peace now. I’m going to miss you so much. I love you so much RA. I’m sorry this had to happen to you. I will always remember the times that we shared. Your kids will be well taken care of.

Until we meet again
I love you

Leave a Reply

