Goodbye Raheem


February 10, 1981 God granted permission for the skies to open and a world to change
Raheem Kamil Chaney
Her Big Boy
They called him P-Dot
Some simply said, “Yo Rah”
For Raheem means merciful, kind, and compassionate
On further breakdown he’s a servant
And I can remember the look in your eyes when you spoke of family
The things you wanted to do for your children
When you mentioned your son or spoke of your daughter
Your smile had the ability to lighten any situation
We can still hear your laughter
Those bike rides down Arlington Bridge Road
The pool on Laventhal
Playing hide and seek in the attic
You used to climb through the window
Teaching your sisters and cousins to drive
Singing Heavy D, “Got nothing but love for your baby:
Always too cool
Rapping on the black
Composing lyrics by freestyle
Shades on
Locs swaying
Hat tilted to the side
You stayed fresh to death
Always rocking nothing but the best
Chilling out on Avon
On Chancellor
They knew you on Clinton and back around the way
See life is nothing but a stopping place
A journey along the road
We know you couldn’t stay another day
Not to pay, not to laugh, not to play
In our hearts your love will forever stay
On our mind is where we’ll keep you
Remember you at every event
During those quiet moments we’ll hear your voice
When the family gathers we’ll tell tales of you
Remind your children of who you were
From your burdens you’ve been set free
There will be no more worry
No more pain
No more tears
Your work is complete
We must now say Amen
Raheem Kamil Chaney, we shall meet again

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Raheem

  1. Incredibly touching Nykieria. What a beautiful tribute to your cousin.

    Again, I am so sorry for your loss (if I’m not mistaken, you loss your great-grandmother not long ago).

    Losing one loved-one can be painful enough. Losing two in less than a year can seem almost unbearable at times…this is especially so among Black-Americans).

    Please allow me to share a little……

    In 2012 I was presented with the biggest challenge of my life as I experienced the loss of TWO people who meant The World to me.

    First: My niece who was more like a daughter to me than my niece (I helped raise her and I have no chidren of my own). And then nearly 7 months later, my Mother. She was my Best-Best friend. My heart.

    The truth is, were it not for my Faith I shudder to think where I’d be today.

    Stay Blessed Nykieria……

    …and *Keep your head to the Sky.*

    • I’m sorry to hear of your losses as well. Thank you for your words and for sharing. Yes, my great grandmother passed last month. It is really hard losing family members back to back like that and like you said, I hold strong onto my faith. I know that no one is called until their mission is complete. With that I find some type of solitude.

Leave a Reply

