Night Crawlers (NaPoWriMo 14 of 30)


Most nights I am afraid to sleep in the dark
Silences speaks too loud
Amplified by the inability to see but hear everything
The drip of the ice box reloading
The furnace boiling
A random car horn
Footsteps
My ears strain to hear the door handled rattled
Or even touched
So I stay up
Completely exhaust myself
Those nights I typically sleep on the couch
With the TV on
I’m really being brave if I turn it off
It’s rather irrational
Knowing that real terrors thrive without the cloak of darkness
Those monsters hide in daylight knowing night would expose their intentions
Freud has proposed that fear of the dark is but a manifestation of separation anxiety disorder
Breaking the bond of those with whom you have strong emotional attachment
Even if it’s unhealthy
Quite possibly my fear has nothing to do with monsters and everything to do with those I need to let go
Lack of attachment from childhood turned hyperactive as an adult
I have been working on letting go
Forcing myself to break those unhealthy alliances
Soul binds that were never meant to be
It is a rather difficult task

One thought on “Night Crawlers (NaPoWriMo 14 of 30)

  1. I have been working on letting go
    Forcing myself to break those unhealthy alliances
    Soul binds that were never meant to be
    It is a rather difficult task [….]

    Yes. It. Is.

    But well worth the time and effort it takes to Set. Yourself. Free.

Leave a Reply

