Great Christ Our Cries


I slowly enter the room
Giving my mind time to adjust to whatever may lay ahead
Fix my face into a permanent smile
We wear the mask that grins and lies
    It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes
A look of her surprise registered across her face
There’s my grandbaby
I’ve come to see grandma
She’s not well off
Breathing a sigh of relief, she looks unexpectedly well
Oxygen mask in place
Legs elevated
We sit and chit chat
Nothing and everything that is unimportant
She attempts to downsize why she’s there
I’m already aware
This debt we pay to human guile
    With torn and bleeding hearts we smile
She lifts her pants leg to scratch and I finally see
They don’t look real
Swollen
Covered in scales and sores
Flaking bits of discarded skin
Black and brown
Black like bad
Like ain’t no good
Like
Like
Like I’m scared because I now realize why they’re having a conversation about amputation
And it makes sense
Because even in a casual glance I’m not sure if there’s a possibility for rehabilitation
And I’m already praying for a miracle but I’m not sure if every question deserves an answer
We smile, but oh great Christ, our cries
    To thee from tortured souls arise
    We sing, but oh the clay is vile
Realizing the difference between need and want
Have and don’t
Desire versus ability
When life represents a death of changes
A future I would never want… for myself
A present that never warranted picking
This sweet deceiving life we live
Oh great Christ, our cries

One thought on “Great Christ Our Cries

  1. When life represents a death of changes
    A future I would never want… for myself [….]

    Or, as it is with me (having loss 5 of my nearest and dearest in the past 4 yrs),…

    ‘when life presents death and a future I never wanted for myself.’

    Nykieria,

    As almost always- a passage of your work reaches out, grabs me and pulls me right in.

    My grandmother, and my mother made-up the 2-sides of my heart. I love them, still, and miss them dearly.

    My prayers go up for you and your grandmother.

Leave a Reply

