Accountability or Lack Thereof


Accountable: ac•count•a•ble: [uh-koun-tuh-buhl]

adjective

1. subject to the obligation to report, explain, or justify something; responsible; answerable.

This morning I had a light bulb moment about expectations and accountability. I realize that for too many years I’ve held myself accountable to people that I’ve owed no obligation, specifically when it comes to my actions. In March of this year I was promoted into a new position at work. I’ve been in training since then and will teach my first training class in a few days. I have been inundated with information to learn, organize, and prepare for facilitation. In addition to my full-time job I am also a full-time student. We are in the last two weeks of school so I am also preparing my final papers and research projects. To say that I’ve been overwhelmed the last two months is an understatement but I am happy that my career is moving in the right direction and I currently have a 3.0 in all of my classes.

So why are we talking about accountability? Because during this time I’ve been really busy and unable to socialize or return phone calls/texts the way I have previously. At work my head is buried in work related materials so I don’t have time to talk and text. When I get home my head is buried in school work. I’m not available at the drop of a dime or when someone else expects me to. For this I’ve noticed that some individuals have picked up an attitude towards me. This made me reflect on what obligation do I owe these individuals that makes me accountable for their expectations. I actually sat and thought hard on this. What I have found is nothing! To them I have no obligation to report, explain, or justify anything therefore I am not subject to their expectations.

To those individuals I pose this question, Why are you not busy? What are you spending your free time doing? and Whose expectations are you obligating yourself to? I can’t do that anymore. At this point in my life I am focused on advancing in my career, strengthening my background, and aligning my present to reflect my future. If that is not a category one finds themselves within is no longer my concern. I still have respect for those individuals but I can’t lose sleep over it. This is a part of my growth and development. I am fine if they are no longer interested in speaking to, calling, or texting me because of this.

4 thoughts on “Accountability or Lack Thereof

  1. First: CONGRATS!..on your job promotion and maintaining a 3.0 GPA.
    I also worked fulltime while I attended school fulltime. Trust. I DO understand.
    I wish you much Success!
    Now about those folks giving you “attitude” because you’re not giving them as much time and attention as they’ve come to expect:
    If you spoiled them? Wellllll……lol
    But if you didn’t? Then that’s on them.

    • Thank you! Well maybe there was a wee bit of spoiling involved but still… They should be able to understand that it’s nothing personal, i’m just trying to handle business right now. HMPH lol.

  2. “Well maybe there was a wee bit of spoiling involved”
    Uh-huh. I thought so…..lol
    But you’re right. They should be able to understand. And if they don’t….well shame on them.

  3. I know I so fall into this category of expecting a text in return when I text. Maybe you will find time for me in days to come. I really hope you’re writing, since I been laid up I have read back through your blog again. I hope we get a new book soon or more blogs.

Leave a Reply

