Agape


agape

I’ve come to the realization that what I’m ready for at this point in my life is a relationship indicative of the woman I’ve become and not the girl I used to be. A confluent love supporting individual growth with intentional connectivity. I spent years learning how to listen actively and effectively communicate with my partner. I opened up my heart to receive a love reflective of the one I was ready to give. I corrected the mistakes of lessons I kept repeating for various reasons. It’s been a long time since I had someone to wrap their arms around me with love my heart could feel, a kiss on my shoulder, or whispered dirty deeds that cause my face to blush. I do not wish to simply be a “pair”; I desire to be evenly yoked. I need a woman with an active prayer life that inspires and supports my creativity. One that is absent of self-destructive behavior and knows a direct line to God is but a kneel away. I want to feel protected without feeling guarded. I have a pressing calling to begin my future. Not of the now but those decisions that direct where my life will be 20 years from now.

5 thoughts on “Agape

  1. I do not wish to simply be a “pair”; I desire to be evenly yoked. I need a woman with an active prayer life that inspires and supports my creativity. One that is absent of self-destructive behavior and knows a direct line to God is but a kneel away. [….]

    This passage, in particular, reads like music, to me.

    And I can’t explain it(?)…but it struck such a chord within that I was moved to play a song I love titled “You Bring Out The Best In Me” by Ms. Vanessa Bell Armstrong (one of my all time favorite artists). Doesn’ matter if it’s the *Live* version or the studio version.

    It’s supposed to be a “gospel” song. But as far as I’m concerend it’s a beautiful love song.

  2. I thought about this over the weekend………….
    I’ve always desired to truly love.. AND be loved by…someone Unconditionally (or as close to unconditionally as possible). And I came close….Twice …before finally growing up (MATURING) which brought about my realization that We (whoever she is) would be connected beyond the mental, emotional and physical. We’d also connect Spiritually. And we’d probably connect on that level FIRST, if we’re to have any real chance of being “evenly-yoked” in our love and relationship.
    Also, the connection would be a Natural thing. Just there…on its own. Not imagined or forced.
    And honestly, for the first time in my life, I truly believe I may have found her. It certainly feels that way.
    Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

