Standing On Empty


Going through my old poems I came across a few to share.

Take a look down the road
About half past pretty
Two stops from disbelief
In the middle of hope fails
Beyond distant wishes
And you’ll find me standing there
Caterpillar shedding these butterfly wings
I fly on broken promises
Duct taped superstition
Cause mama said
Love would defy beauty
So maybe if it had a different name
Then I would see more clearly and it wouldn’t all feel the same
But then again thangs ain’t the way they used ta be
Recounting when it was easy
But never really was
Just fantasized in my mind
On lines spit the first time
You said you wanted to tap my brain before my behind

One thought on “Standing On Empty

  1. Just fantasized in my mind
    On lines spit the first time
    You said you wanted to tap my brain before my behind […..]

    Lol. Okay Ms. Nykieria. That last line is a gem.

Leave a Reply

