Up For Air


It’s mid afternoon and I’m sitting in a conference room working while thinking of a homework assignment that was due Sunday but I’m hoping to have completed tonight. In the midst of that thought I remember that I have a proposal due by Thursday and I need to enroll to take the last two tests for my certification. Around about that last thought is where I decided to step back and take a break, entirely too much to think about doing for the moment. What I am most looking forward to is a much-needed vacation I’ll be taking next month. It will be nice to be unavailable and having a great time while doing it. I’m also looking forward to my birthday this year. While I have no clue what I’ll end up doing, it’s been fun sneaking in time to look a the travel sites.

Life is… hmm… Life is fine for me… for now. I previously felt I was in a season of transition and I still believe that I’m there. I’m getting lots of things accomplished which means I don’t have lots of free time on my hands but the important thing is that I’m still moving forward. I am happy with who I am though I know that I have lots of work to do to get to where I’d like to be. Well physically anyway. I’ve been making very conscious decisions about my health. I looked in my fridge the other day and realized that with the exception of an old empty pack of bacon, there wasn’t any meat in site. My freezer is full of Fruttare popsicle treats (I’m addicted), a few Morningstar products and some Boca burgers. Absent of meat. My fridge is full of nothing but fruits and veggies. All while I was at work yesterday I daydreamed of going home to make a peanut butter smoothie. It was sooooooooooooooooooo delicious. I’m serious. The way I teased that spoon with my tongue would make you shudder LOL. Now if I can just coerce myself to actually hit the pavement running in the evenings. I know that exercise is an important part of losing weight, i’m working on it. 🙂

Artistically my craft is changing… yet again. For quite some time I put limitation on my craft. Based what I wrote on what I had or what resources would become readily available. I’ve always had to make a miracle out of fifteen cents. I’ve released those limitations. Well, I honestly didn’t realize that I was doing that until I sat down recently to begin working on a new play and my thoughts and decisions for characters were based on who I thought I would have available to act. How long had I been doing that? When did that begin? Hopefully this will open up this creative block.

Block.

I don’t know if I can truly say I’m having writers block. I write/train at work all day and when I come home, I sit straight down to my desk to do homework. Most nights I’m doing homework until right before midnight and then it’s time to prepare for the next day. The last thing I want to do those days is sit down to write on a new poem or play… BUT…. I am working on two really amazing plays. If I can just sneak in some time for martini’s, music, and a date with my imagination. Soon come.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Up For Air

  1. (thinking to myself) ASK. And you shall receive. HAH.

    Am I spoiled? You’re darn skippy! Missing your posts full of food-for-thought? Uh-huh.

    But happy to know that you’re continuing to pursue your dreams. It’s hard work. Trust. I do know.

    But well worth it. THAT, I also know.

    Btw: If I may liken your “season of transition” to me being a “work-in-progress”…then I’m in a “season of transition” all the time. And I honestly, wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Continue your journey forward Nykieria.

    And Thank You for this 🙂

Leave a Reply

