When The Devil Comes Knocking


MeToday.jpg

So lately I’ve been working, keeping up with school, and trying to make some major moves to a city that I would like to live in. A position recently came open at my job so I submitted my request for consideration and was selected for an interview. If selected, the position will allow me to move and open up a door of travel that I will truly welcome. My interview was about a week ago and I haven’t heard anything yet but I’m hopeful.

As you know I’ve spent the year focusing on work and school so I haven’t had time to perform much individually however I anticipated it would be like that this year. One thing I am working on is my newest collection of poetry. I am really excited about this collection as it includes some of my most intimate and honest pieces. The only reason it is not out is because I haven’t finalized exactly which poems to include. Just when I believe I’m done I find something else to add/remove. Crossing my fingers but I really do believe it will be out in time for Christmas. Pray tell.

Several months ago I was contacted and asked to perform Beyond Betrayal at Savannah State University for World Aids Day.

When the devil comes knocking….

I’ve always been anemic so I rarely think much of it. The problem is that I’m severely anemic which means that I’m supposed to follow a strict regimen of iron pills and monthly shots to keep my levels up. In addition to that, my family has a long history of asthma and respiratory problems. Well for the last three months (shame on me) I noticed that I’d been quickly giving out of breath. I live on the third floor with no elevator, an apartment I purposely picked, but lately I would be extremely out of breath when I made it to the top of the steps. Again, I didn’t think too much of it. As a matter of fact, I was using this as incentive that I needed to really get on my exercise game and lose some weight. So I began watching what I ate/drink and I pulled the bicycle out of storage and began riding in the evenings

The first day I rode the bike I actually cried because I couldn’t understand why I was so out of breath. I was disappointed in myself as I used to be very active. About two weeks ago I began feeling sick. My throat was scratchy and I coughed through the night. Thinking I was coming down with a sinus infection I scheduled a visit at my doctor. I wasn’t running a fever but I would have cold sweats and I was tired beyond reason however I went in just knowing I would receive some sinus meds and then be sent on my way. The first thing that came up was I was having an asthma attack when I got to the doctor’s office. Didn’t see that coming. Naturally we began a breathing treatment and then I was sent in for a chest x-ray.

After a few minutes, the results came back,

Ms. Chaney, you have pneumonia in your right lung, we need to begin treating it immediately.

Ok, that threw me for a loop but I can handle pneumonia right. Just means I need to take some medication and sit down until it clears up. Hey, I’m superwoman right. Plus, who has time to sit down these days. I have work, and school, and promotions, and plays, and just OTHER STUFF GOING ON! Breathe!

The doctor walked me through the steps telling me I would need to be off work for several days with several follow up visits to check my progress. She gave me a number of medications before doing a blood test and sending me home for bed rest.

Out of the blue but I can deal with it. Picked up my prescriptions and went home to prepare for several days of yucky medicine.

Less than 45 minutes later I received a call from the Doctor.

Ms. Chaney, where are you located?

I’m at home.

Is someone with you?

No, I’m alone.

Ms. Chaney I need you to report to the hospital within the next hour. If you are unable to have someone bring you I will send an ambulance for you.

She’s talking but I don’t hear anything but my heartbeat….

Ms. Chaney?

Yes?

Do I need to send an ambulance?

No, I’ll have someone bring me in immediately.

The devil is a busy body.

I’m directly admitted to the hospital.

Severe Anemia -> Congestive Heart Failure!!!

Say what?

Well thank God for the blood test that my doctor performed before I left her office. My hemoglobin level was only 5.1. Hemoglobin is the protein in your red blood cells that carries oxygen. My Ferritin level is only 1%. 1%? Yep, 1%! Ferritin is a protein found inside cells that stores iron so your body can use it later. My iron saturation is only 3.

Iron deficiency anemia may lead to a rapid or irregular heartbeat. Your heart must pump more blood to compensate for the lack of oxygen carried in your blood when you’re anemic. This can lead to an enlarged heart or heart failure.

A second chest x-ray confirmed my heart is enlarged, my heartbeats are irregular. I have an entire team of doctors and nurses sticking me with needles and hooking me up to machines. Many times over I was informed that I should have been passed out somewhere, that I should not have been able to be up walking around. Many times over I thought, BUT GOD!

All of those times I was short of breath and thinking it was because of my asthma was really my heart not getting enough oxygen. All of the times I had to stop to catch my breath was me on the verge of passing out. Doctor after doctor, nurse after nurse told me I was lucky. I know better. I’m Blessed & Highly Favored.

4 Days and 5 blood transfusions later I was released from the hospital. My levels are stable, my heart is normalized. The devil came to conquer and destroy but my God said NOTHING FORMED AGAINST ME WILL PROSPER. I spent the weekend resting and I’m taking it easy today. I still have more doctor appointments this week but I know that God is with me every step of the way.

First call this morning was an organization asking if we can add them to the December tour of Beyond Betrayal.

Second call was another organization asking if we could add another stop on the tour for 300 Job Corp participants.

BLESSED & HIGHLY FAVORED. MY GOD IS REAL!

One thought on “When The Devil Comes Knocking

Leave a Reply

