Going To The Chapel…


Going to the chapel and we’re going to get married…

Two things happened today that made me stop and think. Earlier someone texted something to me that made me think of marriage. Not as if the thought is foreign but the statement took me by surprise. I sat and reflected on it for a moment. I have plans to get married one day though when that day will actually come and who eyes I will look into have yet to be known. I can’t even say that I thought I’d be married by this time in life. No, I just always knew that I would grow up and marry someone, one day.

Not long before that text I had a conversation with a friend that explained to me that I was like a Rubik’s Cube. She went on to say that I have many sides with multiple levels that women are attracted to but I have yet to find the one that will do the same for me. She said a lot of other personal things that I’ll keep private but a lot, if not all, of what she said was true. I never attempt to attract anyone to me. To be blatantly honest, I seldom think anyone even pays me attention. I’m always focused on the task at hand and there’s always a task at hand. As a plus size woman, I dress nice for my size but I don’t see women falling over themselves to pay me any compliments. I can easily get along in any situation but I am in my truest form when writing while listening to good music, be it alone or in a room full of people.

I never have been drawn to the glitz and glam, most things I’ll take second-hand or a little worn. I have things that have been passed on to me from friends and loved ones that I cherish, use, and keep well taken care of. I don’t respond to showy people or flashy things. A heartfelt conversation will hold my attention longer than any amount of gifts one could give. While I say it doesn’t take much, truth is, it takes a lot because what keeps my attention is the one thing that many people find most uncomfortable.

But back to this marriage thing… She will be my quiet in the storm and she will know exactly how.

 

2 thoughts on “Going To The Chapel…

  1. A heartfelt conversation will hold my attention longer than any amount of gifts one could give. While I say it doesn’t take much, truth is, it takes a lot because what keeps my attention is the one thing that many people find most uncomfortable.[…..]

    Yes.

Leave a Reply

