My Black is Proud


Go scream it on the mountain
For Martin and Malcolm
Marcus, Betty, Arthur, and Ida
Quote Frederick while writing Langston
Zora is singing a new tune
Come Josephine
Smooth Sarah with Ella
Tell them now Mandela
For Maya
And Angela
Nikki and Dubois
Say Baldwin or Bradley
Dare Butler change history
Smooth black foundation
Made anew through the struggle
Sewn in patch quilt formation
Harlem Renaissanced in Jazz beats
And swing
We be black people of black tribes
Proud and free
We be artists and musicians
We be lovers and friends
Family and in-between
For as Countee Cullen said,
“So in the dark we hide the heart that bleeds, and wait, and tend our agonizing seeds”
For every little black girl knows why the caged bird sings
So in the words of Ralph Ellison,
“I am not ashamed of my grandparents for having been slaves. I am only ashamed of myself for having at one time been ashamed.”
It is through the history of my roots that I have found love
Love of my kinky hair with coiled and untamed roots
Proud of my larger nose and fuller lips
More of me to give unto you
It is through my roots that I have learned that black is beautiful
And royal
As it’s been said of the color purple, it’s hard to walk by black and not smile
So if you should walk by and see my lips turned towards the sky
Head back and a glaze in my eyes
Know that it’s simply because I’m tickled that the color of my skin holds secrets you may never know
Or maybe some seldom known fact has crossed my mind
When you see me smiling,
Of all things, please know
It’s because I’m black…
And I’m proud

One thought on “My Black is Proud

  1. It is through the history of my roots that I have found love
    Love of my kinky hair with coiled and untamed roots
    Proud of my larger nose and fuller lips
    More of me to give unto you
    It is through my roots that I have learned that black is beautiful
    And royal
    As it’s been said of the color purple, it’s hard to walk by black and not smile
    So if you should walk by and see my lips turned towards the sky
    Head back and a glaze in my eyes
    Know that it’s simply because I’m tickled that the color of my skin holds secrets you may never know
    Or maybe some seldom known fact has crossed my mind
    When you see me smiling,
    Of all things, please know
    It’s because I’m black…
    And I’m proud […]

    BRAVO!!..Nykieria. And I love the title too “My Black is Proud.”

    Btw- Thank you for introducing me to Countee Cullen and his poem “From The Dark Tower.”

Leave a Reply

