My Heartfelt Apology


I apologize
I apologize for being more concerned about others than you
For neglecting you while attending to the needs of everyone else
For not loving and taking care of you the way I knew I should
I apologize
I apologize for getting angry at you when things didn’t go as planned
Self-medicating on risky behaviors rather than to face an unhappy truth
For the prayers I thought of but never shared with you
The goals we made that I barely attempted to uphold
Burying your lows while smiling to hide what you were going through
I apologize for ignoring your cries
Those shed out loud and the ones no one would ever see
You were always the best but foolishly I continued to settle for less
I apologize for missing out on our morning prayer and afternoon walks
Church services and random drives around town
Days of joy followed by nights full of laughter
You are my truest friend and stronghold
My help when there is no one else
This is my apology to myself
My vow to love ME more
My vow to love ME harder
And bigger
And better
And doper
Than ANYONE else
I apologize to myself

Today is the beginning of National Poetry Month. I have yet to complete 30 poems within 30 days but I will continue to try.

National Poetry Month 2016 #NationalPoetryMonth #NationalPoetryMonth2016 nykieria

 

2 thoughts on “My Heartfelt Apology

  1. You are my truest friend and stronghold
    My help when there is no one else
    This is my apology to myself
    My vow to love ME more
    My vow to love ME harder
    And bigger
    And better
    And doper
    Than ANYONE else
    I apologize to myself [….]

    Wow. Incredible. The entire piece. But especially the closing.

    Thanks again for sharing your gift.

    Whatever you do….Never.Stop.Writing.

Leave a Reply

