Have I Ever


I have fallen in love before
Love in all its sweetness and golden after glows
Been bathed in butterflies and goose bumps at the mere mention of her name
Daydreamed hours away fantasizing what our life would be
Brick house, porch swings, quiet hours reading, good food, and family
I have planned vacations with the intent of exploring the world together
Pleasant thoughts distracting attention from the present
Fancying the images of my imagination
Mind tripping within a fool’s paradise
I know what love is
What it feels like
I know the welcoming smell of love
Its fragrant essence seducing my senses
Why it goes so well with honey
Enticing me with its promises and forget me nots
Lingering kisses and deep sighs
Have I Ever
Oh yes I have
I have fallen in love before
Two stepped on fond memories
Written smitten poems professing my adoration
Fervent and devoted
A loyal affection
Given freely zealously
Inspired
Cared
Motivated
I have tenderly held love and nourished its vulnerabilities
Brought it back from the brink of failing with absolute dedication
I have been the other half that was more than a whole
The rock and foundation
Solid in commitment
Unshakable and secure
Rooted in faith that love sustains
Tucked away the most beautiful aspects of its meaning for one that is reciprocal
Mutual expressions lasting past forever and a day
I have been in love before
It was beautiful and sweet
Golden after glows and goose bumps
I know exactly what love feels like
I never want to forget

4 thoughts on “Have I Ever

  1. I have been in love before
    It was beautiful and sweet
    Golden after glows and goose bumps
    I know exactly what love feels like
    I never want to forget [….]

    This is why I continue to read your posts.

Leave a Reply

