Distractions


There are some nights I am awakened and my mind refuses to allow me to fall back asleep. Those are the nights my subconscious seems to scream louder than my tired body can ignore. Those are some of the same nights when I wonder what of the voice I hear is mine and which of it belongs to the Lord. My most honest confessions are poured in the pitch black still of the night. Nights like tonight used to happen more frequently. They were often filled with the voices of characters that demanded to be wrote into existence at that instance and I happily obliged. I realize I haven’t had one of those nights in some time. It is a humbling confession. A confirmation of several I’ve had of late.

The National Poetry Slam was held in Decatur, GA this week. The National Poetry Slam is the largest team performance poetry event in the WORLD. Typically held in Texas, it is an event I dreamt of attending many nights and I wrote and performed poetry. The National Poetry Slam was held in Decatur, GA this week and I didn’t attend one event. Not only did I not attend one event, I didn’t even make an effort to get on a team to participate. To know me is to know that there is something horrifically wrong with that.

And with that admission, I find myself having conversations with God in my sleep through the still of the night. It is not a sudden realization but one that I have known for quite some time. I allowed myself to be consumed. My grandmother has warned me of many things but there are two that immediately comes to mind:

1. Be careful of the company you keep.
2. Keep yourself prayed up because the devil is watching and he knows exactly how to distract you.

The last thing is Peter 5:8-9 – Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

Many attach that scripture to drinking and becoming drunken. I am certainly no Theologist however, the definition of sober-minded is someone who is serious and sensible. That being said, there are many things that can prevent one from being of a sober-mind. Our mind is the battlefield and we are constantly involved in spiritual warfare. To some that may mean absolutely nothing but this is a thought I’ve used to keep myself previously guarded. The devil is always looking to consume and devour those that are anointed and touched by God so that those very gifts do not become a Blessing to others. He wants to keep you from fulfilling your purpose but even worst, the more he is able to mislead and confuse, the more likely you will turn to his destructive vices and away from God.

Part of the battle is understanding that we are at war and the only options are to fight or live in denial. Today I am choosing to rejoin the fight and to renew my focus. I am choosing to be alert and of a sober mind because everything I have to offer belongs to God.

Leave a Reply

