Welcome Back (1 of 30)


I did not realize how far I’d gone until I went searching for myself and did not recognize my reflection
Somewhere the need for perfection in projection left me flexing well beyond introspection
Beyond physical, I’m talking mentally
Staring in the mirror trying to figure out where the f*ck is me
I was almost two deuces to the wind in a story that had a beginning but no sight of an end
Exercising robust verbose verbiage to hide the pain that I was in
I
Almost
Forgot how motherf*cking dope I am
Like really, motherf*cking dope
And I get it
I mean, I was raised to stretch and pull
To go well beyond
Make it work against all odds
Yet, there are some people that push past clearly established boundaries
But never ever ever should helping you vanquish me
I mean how the hell can you expect a whole if you’re not even complete
Three in the morning I reminded myself to breathe
Not to inhale, but to truly let go and release
To breathe
To be
Me
I gave myself room to breathe

National Poetry Month has arrived. Another year, another attempt. This year I have something to release so let’s see what is birthed..

#NPWM #NaPoWrMo

One thought on “Welcome Back (1 of 30)

  1. But never ever ever should helping you vanquish me
    I mean how the hell can you expect a whole if you’re not even complete […]

    I know it’s poetry/spoken word but Wow. I read these two lines and there is just so much food for thought and discussion contained in each.

    I often wish that I lived in a city where there is a sizable GBF population so that i could seek out a GBF social group that gets together and discusses incredible writings…especially writings that relates to Our community, if not Our own personal lives and relationships.

Leave a Reply

